Jeppe Kofod steps down as EUFORES President, Theresa Griffin nominated President

Jeppe Kofod, MEP (DK, S&D), appointed Minister for Foreign Affairs of Denmark. Theresa Griffin, MEP (UK, S&D), nominated President of EUFORES.

On 27 June 2019, Jeppe Kofod, S&D MEP from Denmark and President of the European Forum for Reneable Energy Sources (EUFORES), was nominated Minister for Foreign Affairs of the Government of Denmark. Jeppe Kofod had been member of the EUFORES Board since 2014 and President of EUFORES since 2018.

The Board of EUFORES has unanimously decided that MEP Theresa Griffin steps in as President of EUFORES in order to manage the transition into the renewed European Parliament and the new setup of EUFORES as a parliamentary network. Theresa Griffin was Vice-President of EUFORES and has taken over as President on 1 July 2019.

Theresa Griffin said: “I am delighted to continue to work with Jeppe Kofod in his new role and Claude Turmes – EUFORES has a history of Presidents becoming national ministers. Both countries will now lead the EU Council in tackling climate change and fighting for greater ambition in renewables and energy efficiency. I look forward to taking this message into the new mandate”

Dr. Jan Geiss, Secretary General, EUFORES, +3225461948

What is EUFORES?

EUFORES is a European cross-party parliamentary network with Members from all major political groups in the European Parliament as well as in the national EU Member States Parliaments. It is a non-profit organisation founded in 1995 by Members of Parliament and other key actors.

Its core objective is to promote renewable energy sources and energy efficiency and to facilitate discussion between the parliamentarians, experts, relevant decision makers and stakeholders. It organises numerous events for parliamentarians each year, most of which take place in the European Parliament. The most important event is an annual Inter-Parliamentary Meeting on Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency which is a meeting of parliamentarians from 28 EU Member States. This conference takes place in a different national parliament on a rotation basis.